Home > Uncategorized > Alpha Omega Winery

Alpha Omega Winery

alpha omega photo

In my last post I started to talk about a group of wineries that I’d love to work with in regard to our high end wine club and also our wine export services to Central and South America. Needless to say these are some of the great names in the wine industry and although I am sure they are approached by different wine clubs often, I think our export services may give us an advantage that others lack.

Maybe its just Sunday morning talking as I sit here with a cup of coffee and the golden retriever that I’m dog sitting sitting on my feet, but I think we can add significant value to these wineries by opening up markets that they do not currently have a significant presence in, or really any presence at all.

I’m asked by friends and family which one winery would you love to work with? It’s not really possible to answer that question so much of the answer is going to come from the personal relationship side of things in addition to the actual wine, but from the wine perspective there are probably 50-75 wineries that are based in California, Oregon and Washington that would all be close to the top of my list. I won’t differentiate between those wineries in this space, at least not at this time.

The winery that I wanted to give some background on first here is Alpha Omega Winery. It’s located in the Rutherford part of Napa and includes more then a few historic vineyards.

Why would I love to work with Alpha Omega? I have a ton of respect for the business decisions that they have made. I think all businesses struggle to find the correct ratio between profit taking, investing in their product and providing value to their customers. Alpha Omega took an incredible step when they hired Michel Rolland starting for their vintage back in 2006. For those of you who don’t know who Michel Rolland is, here is a little background along with his photo:

Rolland

He’s from a famous French winemaking family.
Is a Bordeaux based oenologist
Is the foremost wine consultant in the world
Favors technological advancements to improve wine(good for him!)
Probably the most influencial winemaker in the world
Owns a couple French vineyards
Consults with over 100 truly high end wineries

I found what I consider a great quote from the man himself:

“What I bring is a range of experience and a span of reference that other people here, however talented they might be, do not have…A consultant cannot know everything. I am here to give advice with an open mind to the resident winemaker. So the personality of the people is an essential. It’s fundamental. If you have no contact with the people, it’s impossible. I’m no magician.”

Quite frankly what I see in Alpha Omega is a winery which is completely committed to providing its customers the absolute best wine that it can produce. Hiring Rolland shows how committed they truly are because I’m sure his consulting services are not inexpensive. Given his quote above I would think that Alpha Omega’s resident winemaker Jean Hoefliger (see photo below) would be an interesting person to speak with.

Jean Hoefiger

Aside from what sounds like an interesting life experience(born in Switzerland having lived in South Africa and France for some time) I’m always impressed by people who are comfortable in their jobs and are able to bring in the best talent possible to help them along the way, I know from limited experience this isn’t always the easiest decision to make.

Hoefiger-Rolland

Oh yeah-the final and most important reason why I’d love to work with Alpha Omega. They make great wine that is even improving. We’ve liked their products for a while and now Robert Parker is starting to agree giving them a score as high as 94 on one bottle.

  1. July 21, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Dear Sir,

    Thank you very much for your kind words. We are trying our best to make sure that the passion we have for wine shows.
    Please make sure to contact me directly (jean@aowinery.com) next time you are up this way, I would love to have you and taste our wines together.

    Best regards,

    Jean Hoefliger

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

