Home > Uncategorized > Why I love FaceBook + Peru

Why I love FaceBook + Peru

I was asked the other day why I love social media and think it can help in spreading our wine business. At first I was thinking, it just can, I know it can because it helps to connect people.

This morning I got a better answer when I checked my FaceBook profile.

We recently made a trip to South America, Peru in peculiar for my sister in law’s wedding. Two days before the wedding she set up all of us from the states, well about 8 of us anyway, on a Preuvian culinary tour from Pica Peru. We piled in a van with our guide/translater/owner Sandra and a driver and set off. We started by having juice(a Peruvian tradition) at a local juice bar called La Gran Fruta which is in essence an extremely high end Jamba Juice. After that we visited a local market where chef Carlos Otero helped us through a tasting of locally grown fruit like the following:

After the market we headed about an hour outside of town to a restaurant/organic slow food farm called El Gloria Del Campo. Seeing how the slow food movement started in SF it was very nice to see it spread 8,000 miles south. While there we enjoyed Peru’s national drink Pisco Sour, learned to cook some Peruvian cuisine and generally enjoyed our time at one of the most beautiful places I’ve been in some time.

This part of the post was a little too complicated for me to make from memory but you can read more about it at my friends food blog Food Spiration.

All of this brings me to the point of this post, on FB this morning I saw a friend of mine(Chris) had made one of the Peruvian dishes that we’d learned on this tour. Chris is originally from Arkansas and may be one of the first Southerners to make a Peruvian dish……yes I joke because I care.

1

I am constantly amazed at the power of the internet and social media to bring people together. Without either you wouldn’t be reading this and my sister in law certainly wouldn’t have been able to comment on how Chris’s dish looked.

It does bring to mind one one thought and one question:

The thought is, I’d like to incorporate this slow food movement into our wine business.

The question is to Chris: Why wasn’t I invited for dinner?

Hope you all are having a great day.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 25, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    You’re right about the this-wouldn’t-be-happening-without-the-internet angle. I can now send your post link to my niece who is making her first trip to Peru in a month, and it will look like I know more about Peru than she does. Which I don’t.

    • winewithmark
      July 25, 2009 at 10:32 pm

      Nancy, If either of you have any questions please let me know. We have only spent significant time in Lima and the beach areas so far, but my family can answer anything she’d want to know.

      Thanks for the comment.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

